Aerial shot of Sighthill campus building

College History

Edinburgh College was formed on 1 October 2012 as part of the merger of Edinburgh's Jewel and Esk, Telford, and Stevenson colleges.

The college has four campuses, all of which were previously the campuses of the constituents of the merger:

  • Jewel and Esk's College Milton Road (Jewel) Campus - now Edinburgh College, Milton Road Campus

  • Jewel and Esk's College Eskbank Campus - now Edinburgh College, Midlothian Campus

  • Edinburgh Telford College - now Edinburgh College, Granton Campus

  • Stevenson College Edinburgh - now Edinburgh College, Sighthill Campus

On 17 April 2012, Edinburgh's Jewel and Esk, Telford, and Stevenson colleges collectively submitted to the Scottish Government a business case for their merger into a single "Edinburgh" college.

The merger was approved by the Scottish Ministers, and came into force on 1 October 2012.

Edinburgh College values it’s rich history, especially those of the many legacy colleges that have come together over the years to better serve the learners of the Edinburgh and Lothian’s region.

A project is currently underway to collate the history of Edinburgh College and its legacy institutions and to create an archive of material to tell its story. Lots of interesting items have already been uncovered including old prospectuses, student newsletters, photographs and a log book from Ramsay Technical Institute dated 1923.

EC History Montage

Where it all began

Find out more about the College's history

Take a look at our past
EC History

Follow our story

Keep up to date with our History Project on Twitter. 

Follow us on Twitter

If you want further information about this please contact