Aerial shot of Sighthill campus building

College History

Edinburgh College was formed on 1 October 2012 as part of the merger of Edinburgh's Jewel and Esk, Telford, and Stevenson colleges.

The college has four campuses, all of which were previously the campuses of the constituents of the merger:

  • Jewel and Esk's College Milton Road (Jewel) Campus - now Edinburgh College, Milton Road Campus

  • Jewel and Esk's College Eskbank Campus - now Edinburgh College, Midlothian Campus

  • Edinburgh Telford College - now Edinburgh College, Granton Campus

  • Stevenson College Edinburgh - now Edinburgh College, Sighthill Campus

On 17 April 2012, Edinburgh's Jewel and Esk, Telford, and Stevenson colleges collectively submitted to the Scottish Government a business case for their merger into a single "Edinburgh" college.

The merger was approved by the Scottish Ministers, and came into force on 1 October 2012.

Edinburgh College values it’s rich history, especially those of the many legacy colleges that have come together over the years to better serve the learners of the Edinburgh and Lothian’s region.

The College is currently working with the Edinburgh College Development Trust to seek funding for a professional historian and archivist, to help collate and publish more information about the fantastic history of our college.

If you want further information about this please contact